Home Hope After Christmas deal with… How a couple of Berger? – Rio Rancho Observer

After Christmas deal with… How a couple of Berger? – Rio Rancho Observer

After Christmas deal with… How a couple of Berger? – Rio Rancho Observer

Rams basketball coach Wally Salata.

The annual Jalene Berger Allstate Vacation Hoops Basic ideas off Wednesday at 1 p.m. within the Rams Athletic Middle.

The host Rams have been within the championship recreation eight instances within the earlier 13 seasons it’s been contested, and received the Basic the final three years it’s taken place – 2018, ’19 and ’21, with the pandemic wiping out the 2020 occasion.

The match originated in 2007 as an thought of then-Rams coach Brian Smith; it was an eight-team occasion, performed in round-robin trend.

The match has had varied names and format, though it turned the Jalene Berger Allstate Vacation Hoops Basic in 2013; Berger is a longtime native sports activities proponent and Allstate agent within the Metropolis of Imaginative and prescient.

Listed here are Wednesday’s first spherical video games:

1 p.m.: Hope Christian (5-1) vs. St. Pius X (5-3). Hope has received the match 4 instances (2009, ’11, ’13 and ’15).

3 p.m.: Rio Grande (5-3) vs. Santa Fe (4-3). Santa Fe appeared within the championship recreation final December, falling to the Rams, 48-42.

5 p.m.: Espanola Valley (1-10) vs. Sandia Prep (3-3): EVHS misplaced the ’15 title tilt to Hope Christian and beat the Rams for the Basic title in ’17.

7 p.m.: Socorro, Texas (8-6) vs. the Rams (5-4): It’s the second yr in a row Socorro has been within the match.

The losers of the primary two video games meet Thursday at 1, and the latter two losers tip off Thursday at 3. The primary two video games’ winners meet Thursday at 5, and the latter two winners sq. off Thursday at 7.

On Friday, the seventh-place recreation is at 1, adopted by the fifth-place recreation at 3, the third-place recreation at 5 and the championship recreation at 7.

RRHS basketball match champs

2007: Spherical-robin; no champion.

2008: Highland 75, Rio Rancho 61

2009: Hope Christian 60, Eldorado 49 (Ram Division)

2010: El Paso Franklin 48, El Paso Coronado 44

2011: Hope Christian 63, Las Cruces 61 (OT)

2012: Manzano 64, Hope Christian 54

2013: Hope Christian 75, Rio Rancho 61

2014: Rio Rancho 75, Hope Christian 68

2015: Hope Christian 62, Española Valley 32

2016: Oñate 81, Rio Rancho 76

2017: Española Valley72, Rio Rancho 54

2018: Rio Rancho 73, Hope Christian 72

2019: Rio Rancho 61, Highland 58

2020: COVID-19, Rio Rancho 0

2021: Rio Rancho 48, Santa Fe 42

Adblock take a look at (Why?)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here